Career Woman to Traveller.

Life choices.

“Leaving my career to go travelling was the SCARIEST yet the BEST thing I have ever done. ” – Rae

My sister has always called me the “Golden Child.” I always wanted to make my parents proud, so I received good grades at school, attended college and went to university. When I left university I went straight into my career within the Criminal Justice System. This was the biggest eye opener as I worked with all kind of cases, many which you will read on the news. Yet I was dealing with these people face to face and I knew I was too young to witness such cases. This is when I knew there was more to life.

Don’t get me wrong I have had the greatest opportunities and I am so grateful I was able to obtain such a high education and be in such an interesting career, but I always thought is this it? In today’s society we are institutionalised and therefore if you do not follow the norm you are seen as an outsider. For example a “normal” person should be a home owner, married and have children by the time your 35 but why? With London house prices I highly doubt this will be the case for some, but so what, do what makes you happy.

When I told people I am giving up my career to go travelling, I did receive a lot of negativity including “Why would you do that? You could put that money towards a mortgage.” Well Simon (I don’t actually know a Simon but hey it works) I don’t want the responsibility of a mortgage, I would rather go cage diving with sharks! A good friend once told me I should do what  I want to do and let go of all them negative comments which in the end will drag you down.

So why travel?

“The purpose of life is to live it, to taste experience to the utmost, to reach out eagerly and without fear for newer and richer experience.” ― Eleanor Roosevelt

There are loads of opportunities I could take including buying my own home, having children etc however that’s not me- for now. Travelling is so unique, this is the best and greatest opportunity to meet new people, explore new countries and try new foods (This excites me a lot as I am a foodie). For people who know me I get bored so easily whether this is in relationships, employment, exercising etc and travelling is not boring, you don’t know what is round the corner, where you will end up, who you will meet and that is thrilling! The fact that everything is the unknown is great, I am so used to being in a safety net – making sure I have employment and housing etc but going to a new country not having anything where I am used to having everything will be a new adventure for me.

When discussing travelling with my dad, he asked the burning question “Are you travelling to run away?” This threw me and I really had to think whether I am running away from England, family, friends but no I am not running away, I want to find myself. I know there is more to life than sitting behind a computer, moaning all the time about my life. I want to live in a different country and I want to experience not being a “local” but as a foreigner/ traveller. I want to come out of my comfort zone, become more independent, be open minded about life itself.

As awful as this sounds we do not know when our last day will be and I want to be enriched with different cultures. Material things come and go yet you can not buy experiences and memories.

I will be travelling to Australia on the 22nd August 2016 and this is the start of a new chapter in my life and I am super excited.

Life is full of decisions, do what YOU want to do, not what society wants YOU to do.

Portugal

Here’s to new beginnings

Rae x


24 thoughts on “Career Woman to Traveller.

  1. I admire you and this post!! You go girl and go see the world! I’ve got the travelling bug for sure. Visited Australia and New Zealand at the beginning of the year then going to Vietnam and Cambodia at Christmas! You’ll have the best time ever! Cannot wait to hear all about your travels!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Loved this post! I am an avid traveler myself and believe everyone should travel. Travel changes you for the better. Have fun on your travels – perhaps one day, we may be in the same country and meet up.

    Like

  3. Hey beautiful, am loving your blog and so excited for you and your new chapter in life. So glad I can follow your travels and share your new experiences of life online this way. You are a joyful inspiration! You will find out many new and amazing things about yourself, life and the universe. Am here if you need me. Love and hugs xxx

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Wow!! I love this. Everytime I travel for work it gets harder and harder to leave the airport. I daydream for five minutes thinking where I would go if I could just get on one of the planes . This happened this past Thursday. The line of travelers were boarding to go to Seoul. I was so tempted to just get on that line and go. But..I have a job, three kids (youngest one going into college this year) and a husband. How could I just do it? I would sell my house tomorrow and travel around the world but how can I at this point. So happy to see you do it!! For now, I will live vicariously through you!!! I envy you! Have a wonderful time!!! Looking forward to reading about its,,

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Aww thank you! I haven’t got children or a family yet but I would love to one day. I’ve come to a point in my life where I can just pick up and go. I was in my career for about 2 years and thought this would be the best time to just go. Thank you so much for reading my post. Means so much xxx

      Like

  5. Hey ‘Curly Top’ Yes! Memories are much more valuable that any material things and they last forever. Will miss you loads, but you must go where life leads you. Enjoy your new journey. You WILL find yourself and many other thing too. Don’t forget to record everything (well almost everything) on this Blog….XXX

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Safe journeys hun please stay safe and love ur life to the max oh and remember dont sleep naked them spiders are all around lol love louise (the one that got u fucked up in berlin ) lol x

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment