What people don’t tell you about travelling…

Hostel friends.

“One’s destination is never a place, but a new way of seeing things.” ― Henry Miller

You see the amazing pictures, the new people I have met, the beaches and scenery but no one has ever told me the hard side of things which in the end make you a stronger and more independent person. (Note- There is a positive to this story.)

Help… I’m home sick.
A friend told me after 4 weeks it will hit you how far from home you are and it did. The dreaded sickness I did not want to have – home sickness. All I wanted to do is cry and chill with my sister like we used to do. I missed having my friends, telling them to come over with KFC. When I spoke to my mum she said you told me to tell you if you ever get home sick to suck it up and enjoy this travelling experience. For a moment I felt lonely and scared, I did not know what I was doing with my life and if I had made the right decision. I am so used to being in a safety net and for a moment it scared me that I had no job, no best friend and my parents were not around.

I spoke to a good friend of mine and she said why did you go travelling? The best question someone could have asked me. I wanted to travel to see new things, meet new people, become more independent and to get out of my routine which I had back home. That vital question helped me so much and helped me get over this home sickness I had encountered. I just thought of all the things I am doing and witnessing, the views I have seen and people I have met along the way.

On the other hand, being home sick made me realise how good I have things back home so I took this as a positive. It’s almost like I had forgotten how blessed and how beautiful my family and friends are, how lucky I am to have such supportive parents, how my sister is my best friend and that I have my career to go back to when I go home.I have so much to look forward to when I eventually go home but right now let me enjoy this experience. This experience that not a lot of people will be able to have.

Help… I hate saying goodbye.
The one thing I didn’t think about when I travel is saying goodbye to people I have met along the way. I have met some fantastic people, whether I have been with them for a day or a week but saying goodbye was horrible. I do not know whether I will see these people again or whether we will end up seeing each other at Bondi in the summer (Luckily social network has enabled me to keep in contact with these people.) It’s the one thing you don’t think about. However this opportunity has given me the chance to met people from all over the world and allowed me to be more confident within myself to talk to random people. I dread the day I will have to say bye to my aunt and cousins. My aunt has the most beautiful soul and has been a mother to me this whole time whilst in Australia. I am lucky she has been there for me whilst I have been here. I have lived with family whilst in Australia and they have given me the best experience whats it like to live like a Aussie. My travelling experience has most likely been a lot different to others as I have had an opportunity not only to travel and stay in hostels but to live within an Australian household and do things Aussies do.

Help…I’m jobless.
In regards to working and travelling, it really is hit and miss. One week you will have 5 agencies calling you for work, next it can be quiet for 2 weeks and you panic thinking what the hell am I going to do? At one point I honestly thought I will have to go home next week. It’s all a part of the fun and games. Advice for anyone who is travelling whilst working, apply for as many agencies as possible and throw yourself out there. Try work that you have never done before even if you think this will not be for you. There is no harm in trying. It’s scary not having a constant job and most people will think the thought of not working sounds amazing which don’t get me wrong it is nice once in a while to have a week to chill and go to the beach without worrying about having to go to work. Again this has made me realise how lucky I am I will be able to go straight back into my career when I go back to England. It has also given me the opportunity to meet new people and working in different environments. I may even work on a farm in order to get my second year visa – that will be a challenge but I am up for it.

Luckily I have now landed myself a 6 month contract.

Help… Someone jumped me!

Eventually I plucked up the courage to move from my aunts into a hostel so I could meet people and felt I would have more work opportunities living in the city which I have. There is so many up and downs to a hostel and being in a room with 10 strangers is like being in the big brother house- who will come through the door next. The first room I was placed in I met some great people but I had to move rooms as one night a guy jumped on me in the middle of the night whilst I was just about to sleep. I saw the funny side but another guy in the room went mad. The next night again a group of them come home drunk turned all the lights on and one guy decided to have sex. At the end of the day I am in a hostel however it’s a pain when you have a job interview the next day and red bull can’t even help you! I’ve moved rooms now and these lot are great! I have met some amazing people in this hostel… Friends for life! Since being in a hostel I’ve found it difficult keeping in contact with people from back home as i have been constantly busy.

Overall there are some rough times when you go travelling, especially when you are on your own. These make the experience more fun – although at the time you are like what the hell am I doing. You learn from it and you just have to ask yourself, why did I want to travel in the first place? You have to put yourself out there, talk to random people, make phone calls to agencies asking them if they have any work and to keep you in mind when work comes up, walk into a hostel and ask who wants to get drunk!

Don’t be scared to try new experiences.

Now as no one is in my hostel dorm I’m going to take this opportunity to get some sleep…

Rae x

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “What people don’t tell you about travelling…

Leave a Reply

