The Afro went out… Out out!

dh4
Darling Harbour, Sydney.

It was my first big night out and I already love the Sydney nightlife. Everyone was so friendly and one thing is for sure – Aussies can drink! If I didn’t have a drink in my hand that was it, someone would be like where is your drink, lets go to the bar!

dh5
Me, Terri, Sam having a party at home.

Before me and Sam went out,  we were drinking at home and having a sing and dance. If you have me on Snapchat you will see what happened at home – I don’t think I have ever laughed so much in my life. This is when I knew it was going to be an eventful night, and it sure was.

Terri ordered us a cab into the city, we went to Darling Harbour.  The Uber driver was mad, I was sitting in the back just laughing as my cousin was trying to keep up with him. When there was a slight silence he would say sooooo… And another conversation would start. You have to love a chatty cab driver.

So we finally reached the city and the views were amazing. Darling Harbour reminded me a bit like Canary Wharf but better. We went to a place called Pontoon where my cousins friends were waiting for us. They were all great and so fun, they kept me entertained for the night.

Can you be my wing woman?
I had such a fun night and the big curly hair was getting attention from girls! Quite a few girls approached me and asked to touch my hair, I didn’t care and hey I was making friends (A few more followers on Instagram – winning!). A guy noticed girls kept approaching me about my hair so he came up to me and said can I ask you for a favor? In my head I was thinking woo this could be dodgy, but anyways I said yeah sure. He asked me to be his wing woman for the night. I have never been asked to be someones wing woman but I love a new challenge – ha ha! I accepted to be his wing woman and we high fived!

OMG, has anyone said you look like Scary Spice?
Can’t believe someone actually asked me if anyone has said this to me before, as soon as the Spice Girls formed I was told at the age of 6 I look like Scary Spice. I love being called Scary Spice, although I think someone needs to come up with a new celeb as the Spice Girls were back in the 90’s. So a guy come up to me and said “OMG, has anyone said you look like scary spice?” My response was laugh and say lets go find the rest of the Spice Girls – so we found the rest of the girl group and took a picture. Baring in mind that these were all strangers but come on who wouldn’t want to be a Spice Girl. What a great way to meet new people, just take a picture saying we could be the Spice Girls – Not that I can sing.

Lock out law
I have never heard of a lock out law before, whereby you have to be in a club by 1:30AM, no shots after 12 and some other rules. This did not bother me in the slightest and thought it was actually a really good concept. A few people back home told me about this lock out law and said I need to act sober or I won’t be allowed in the club (Something I can do pretty well.) So it really wasn’t that bad at all.

Wet pussy anyone?
It’s not what you think it is, you dirty minded person! Many people told me when I come to Sydney I need to try a wet pussy shot and it was really good. It is slightly embarrassing going to the bar and asking for 2 wet pussies but they didn’t even bat an eyelid. I also tried a fireball – This I loved, it was like cinnamon.

night-out
A few pictures from our night out in Darling Harbour.

The following day me and my cousin Jen went to the Smooth Chocolate festival which was like a big food market. There were so many different types of foods but we wanted chocolate. It was nice to see the Opera house again, and we even took a selfie. What a way to cure a hangover!

Opera house.png
Me and Jen at the Opera House before the Chocolate festival.

I met some great people this night. Going to a new country can be very daunting but sometimes you have to throw yourself out there and just talk to people. I never used to be outgoing, I was the shy one in the family and wouldn’t say boo to a goose. I would say this changed when I started working as I had to talk to customers and work colleagues. The older I am getting the more I want to talk  and meet new people. I am staying in Melbourne next week and will be staying in a hostel with a room full of strangers and this actually excites me. This will give me a chance to meet other people in my situation and from different backgrounds.

I have been called in to work for a Law firm for the rest of the week, and then I head to Melbourne on Friday. I am so excited to see a new city and apparently it is full of places to eat – Yes!

Next stop… Melbourne.

Rae x

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

