Sorry London but I love Sydney. 

Bondi beach. Sydney

 

This still feels surreal, I am currently sitting on a beautiful beach writing this post watching my gorgeous cousin do a photoshoot. Is this really my life right now? Let me just pinch myself.

I’m still getting my head around the time difference. When I say morning my friends and family are saying evening.


Well what can I say? I have been in Sydney for a week and I am so lucky to have to have this opportunity. I am staying with my amazing family and I love them all so much. They have shown me so much already in such a short amount of time.

Day 1- My two cousins and aunt met me at the airport. My aunt had bought me a balloon and flowers! How sweet is that! It was raining but it didn’t matter I was finally here! We drove over the famous harbour bridge. They were so welcoming and I knew I will not want to leave these crazy lot.

Sydney airport. Sam, me, Jen.

 

Day 2- I was worried about jet lag so on day 1 I went to bed at 9. I struggled a bit with my sleep and kept waking up every 2 hours. My aunt woke me up and we went for breakfast in a cute little cafe. I honestly felt like I was dreaming it was crazy. Me and my aunt went to Castle Hill mall to get a SIM card. We went for lunch at a cool American diner and we had more drinks! Yay!

Lunch and drinks with Aunt Terri

 

Day 3- It was Fridayyyyy! We had a little gathering and I met some of my aunts neighbours who even bought me a welcoming gift (Aussie goods including tim tams which I am now addicted to!) We had a drink or ten. It was a good night!

Aussie treats.

 

Day 4- The day I felt like a tourist! I got to see the opera house and harbour bridge. We had dinner and drinks at the opera house and it was just amazing. Some of my aunts friend come as well and again they were so friendly and welcoming.

Harbour bridge.

 

Day 5- It a Sunday = Rest day. Me and my aunt were chilling and at lunch we decided to have a wine lunch. I think I had one too many haha. The neighbours popped round and again they were just so talkative and nice. Aussies are so amazing! We skyped grandad George and nanny Julie. We’re so lucky we have the technology we do. I still feel close to home. Back home it was carnival weekend. All my friends were sending me pictures. I don’t know if they were more drunk or if I was.

Bar at my Aunt’s house where all the magic happens

Day 6- Bondi beach. I have never seen water so blue plus I got to see surfers in real life! We went to a restaurant called Iceburg and the views were outstanding. This is when it really sunk in that I’m in Australia. It was just amazing.

Iceburg. Bondi beach

 

Day 7- My aunt went back to work and I spent the day with my cousin. We went shopping and lunch and was so nice to get to know her. She come with me to set up my bank account. She is amazing! She is taking me to my first night out in Sydney on Saturday and I’m so excited! So on day 8 we went to get a outfit! I will do a post on my first night out in Sydney.

I have only been in Sydney for a week and it still doesn’t seem real. My aunts house I’m staying in is the biggest house I have ever stayed in and even has a pool! It’s gorgeous.

The family I have over here, I can’t even describe how beautiful they are. I want to show them off to the world. I can’t thank them enough for what they have done for me so far. We have so much planned together already including a soccer game, festival, blue mountains, Perth and so much more. I’m just so excited!

Although it has only been a week I have realised a lot. I have realised who I want in my life back home, whether that’s friends or family. The people who have stuck by me and kept positive. My friend told me this experience will show you who your true friends are and it’s true.

A few friends are looking to come out, I’m like wow they would come to the other side of the world to see me! I love them so much!

Being so far from home makes you realise so much including there is so much more to life. The small things that would bother me back home doesn’t phase me anymore. I don’t care what people think and I’m not even bothered what others do in their lives but this has given me a chance to put myself first and not to worry.

I can honestly say my aunt and cousins have taught me so much already.

I still don’t feel like this is real and think I am on holiday and will be back in London in a week but nope I’m sitting on Chinamans beach writing this post. This is the life.

Chinamans beach . Sydney
6 thoughts on “Sorry London but I love Sydney. 

  1. This is an adventure that has just begun for you Rachel, and your travels have definitely rubbed off on me now lol. I’m a big advocater of experiencing life outside of your surroundings and your embracing it to the fullest. I’m excited to read more keep enjoying the time there xx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

